Member Login

Log in

Ottis Lock Endowment Awards

Educator Award:

The Ottis Lock Educator of the Year Award of $500 will be awarded to a deserving nominee who has demonstrated excellence in educating the public about the history or culture of East Texas. Nominations will be made by the Lock Endowment Committee by March 1 of each year; the Committee welcomes suggestions from the public, which should be received no later than February 1. Suggestions may be sent directly to a committee member or to the offices of the East Texas Historical Association by letter. Those nominated by the Committee will be notified and invited to submit appropriate support materials for their nomination by May 1.

Research Grant:

A number of research grant awards involving East Texas history will be made, usually in amounts of $500 to $1000. Applications will be accepted on our form, and should include name, address of the researcher (with biographical data), the purpose for which the funds would be spent, a general statement of anticipated benefit and uses of the completed research and a complete budget.

Best Book on East Texas History:

Nominations may be made by an author or publisher, and should include the title of the book, the author (with biographical data), and a statement about the book, accompanied by five copies of the book. 


All nominations must be submitted on our Nomination Form BEFORE May 1 of each year. Please write or send email to our office at the address below for Nomination Forms. Completed nominations should be mailed to:

Ottis Lock Endowment Committee
East Texas Historical Association
Box 6223, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-6223 

East Texas Historical Association
P.O. Box 6223
SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962

Copyright © 2016
East Texas Historical Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software